RAN – The Sea Goddess

This is a model job I did for a photographer called Holger E. A project he is putting together for a calendar for heathen and viking interested folks. Pictures were taken in Marstrand outside of Gothenburg. It’s a beautiful archipelago, close to the mainland, a lot of rocks and the powerfull sea around it. Perfect spot for Ran.

In norse mythology, Ran is a sea goddess. She has a net in which she tried to capture men who ventured out to sea. She was often depict with long, black hair and dressed in a fish net.

So the fantastic invoiroment is real but graphic designer Mattias made the colors more dramatic. Further down you can see some pics without the editing.

– Click pics to enlarge –

Ran, Sea Goddess, VIking, Heathen, Tallee Savage, Mattias Savage Wilmenius

Ran Sea Goddess

Ran, Sea Goddess, Viking, Heathen, Tallee Savage, Mattias Savage WIlmenius

—– • —–

BEHIND THE SCENES

Here’s a couple of unedited pictures from the photo shoot.

Ran Unedited

7 Responses to “RAN – The Sea Goddess”

  1. THERESA Says:

    Absolutely love the sea goddess…so much I think I am going to steal the idea and be that for Halloween this year…Too Cool….but instead of the ivy(looks like), I will do seaweed. ;) Do you have any pics you can email to my inbox of this one?

    Like

  2. These are positively stunning. Is it all right to use one of these pics on a WordPress post I am writing about my own experiences with Ran? I will link back here and attribute to you, of course.

    I’d love to see more work along these lines. :) Ever thought of doing Her daughters next?

    Like

    • Hello! Yes you are welcome to use the photos of RAN. I am glad you like them. Please link to my blog and don´t forget to put byline:

      Model: Tallee Savage
      Photo: Holger E.
      Graphics: Mattias Wilmenius

      I would love to read what you write so tell me when you are done.

      ///Tallee Savage

      Like

  3. Has Holger E. finished the calendar project? These photos are beautiful and I’d love to see more of his work, especially as I’m a Heathen ;)

    Like

  4. Hello.

    My name is Sergi Justribó. I have a blog about myths and legends, I put your amazing work in my blog. I hope you agree. I put your wordpress address , name of Model , photo, graphics.
    I am from Barcelona

    Thanks

    http://sergismite.blogspot.com.es/2014/12/ran-deessa-vikinga-del-mar.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

