My Tribute to Charlie Chaplin (Yes, it’s ME!)

When I was a little girl I used to watch Charlie Chaplin movies together with my grandfather. He brought so many laughter to me as the “Little Tramp”. He is one of the film actors I admire the most from the early classical Hollywood era. And I still love him,  because he wanted to bring about a radical change in contemporary society where he saw the misery of exploited people. You can see this throughout all his films, how the Little Tramp communicates the message of human freedom and always has a positive outlook on life in a world full of chaos.

Charlies personal life and career was full of scandals and controversy. His childhood has the type of deprived childhood that one would expect in a Dickens novel. Still after huge success he had an “un-millionaire” way of living and I quote his words “The saddest thing I can imagine is to get used to luxury”.

In the 1950’s Charlie was scrutinized for his support in aiding the Russian struggle against the invading Nazis during World War II, and the U.S government questioned his moral and political views, suspecting him to having communist ties. In 1952 when he traveled home to England for the premier of “Lime Light”, he was denied reëntry o the United States. The goverment had no evidence to prove that he was a threat to national security. Now, talk about paranoia : (

I think that without Charlie Chaplin, movies would not be as big as they are today. He was not just “bigger ” than anybody, he was gigantic and I think it is doubtful if any other individual has ever given more entertainment, pleasure and relief to so many human beings…specialy when they needed it the most through Wold War I , The great depression and the rise of Hitler. It came natural to him to lash out both imperialism and Fascism… but carrying out his mission he would always put on the costume of a “clown”.

Now and then my whole family sits down in front of the TV and we have a Charlie Chaplin weekend. Some classics are: “The Kid”, “The Gold Rush”, “City Lights”, “The great Dictator “, “Limelight”

This photo session here is my way of showing my admiration for Charlie Chaplin. Yes, it is actually me in the pictures, he, he, he. I feel a complete and utter amazement at the genius of this great man. To me his gift is immeasurable and timeless and his legacy will be enjoyed forever.

Model: Tallee Savage (me)
Photo and graphics by: Mattias Savage Wilmenius
Wardrobe: Independent Kostym

A little something I wrote about Charlie in Swedish.

Charlie Chaplin skänkte filmen innehåll, form och framförallt karaktär. Han var den förste som funderade ut en komisk sekvens, lade ihop komplikationer och sedan drev situationen till dess logiska spets. Idag känner de flesta till vagabonden Charlie men de är inte bekanta med hans filmer. När jag var liten tittade jag ofta på hans filmer tillsammans med min morfar i Chile. Han var så rolig och hans blotta närvaro berikade min själ. I böcker skrivna om honom och i hans självbiografier kan man läsa om hans fascinerande liv. Från elände och förnedring och en uppväxt likt den Charles Dickens beskriver i Oliver Twist till en majestätisk triumf. Jag tycker hans verk borde vara självklara inslag i kulturorienterade ämnen i skolan och min yngsta dotter på nio år håller med. Hon ska därför ta med några av Chaplins filmer till skolan och visa i hennes klass. Ett mästerverk som “Diktatorn” tillhör enligt min mening allmänbildningen. Men min favorit är nog “Chaplins pojke = The kid” och” The Gold Rush”

My grandfather Onofre and I in Santiago, Chile, 1972. One of my biggest role models and inspiration in life.

The authentic Charlie below:

Here you can watch some scenes from Charlie Chaplin’s movies:

This scene chokes my heart and makes me cry every single time. The music he wrote was also very emotional and powerful.

And what about this scene, doesn’t it make you smile?

A small part from the movie “City Lights”:

A DAY WITHOUT LAUGH IS A WASTED DAY” /// Charlie Chaplin///

5 Responses to “My Tribute to Charlie Chaplin (Yes, it’s ME!)”

  1. I absolutely LOVED this one, good work to all of you.

    Like

  2. Amazing features Tallee< congratulations. I always admired Charlie Chaplin, I have a huge picture framed of him, that sits in my sisters house in sweden, I miss it often. Keep up the great work. love Teija / Tobago

    Like

  3. Anonymous Says:

    <3

    Like

Leave a Reply

