The Unauthorized Yngwie Biography in English

headline-as-above-so-belowBook_Cover-cropped

NOW AVAILABLE IN ENGLISH!!  WORLD WIDE on Kindle!
Get it HERE >>

Here’s how to do Kindle on your computer, PC >> or Mac >>

Sample of chapter 9. The story about our life in Sweden, right before we left for the US and the early days in LA, living in the infamous “Steeler mansion”. Download the teaser >>

divider

The english version of the book is finally here! After receiving hundreds of messages and e-mails from Yngwie’s fans worldwide, I understand that the anticipation and hunger for the english version was longed for. Anders Tengner’s unauthorized biography is about Yngwie’s adolescent years. School, hobbies, struggle, drugs, love, mischiefs, achievements. Who did he play with? How many hours a day? What influences did he have?  What possessed him to do the things he did? How did he finally make it and what was he like before he became “Yngwie the guitar God”?

Behind my participation:
“- I have kept my memories and diaries all of these years. Never had a reason to share or speak out really. But I changed my mind when Anders Tengner contacted me because I knew he would print only my words and nothing but the truth. Anders is a solid top rock journalist, actually one of the greatest we have in Sweden and with an impeccable reputation and knowledge. Last but not least, he is a friend. Yngwie and me spent time at his apartment back in 1980/1981. He wasn’t at all after any dirt digging or rumor mongering, he simply wanted the truth and would not settle for any “maybies” or “approximate” dates. He made me empty my mother’s whole cellar and attic to find the diaries to get exactly the right dates for all the things Yngwie did during the years we were together”.

The book is based on interviews from more than 60 people who stood closest to him during many years. Girlfriends, wives, teachers, band members etc. You will find yourself reading a lot of sad, disturbing and rather depressing things really :( But then again, while I was reading it… I could not help thinking that there are so many wonderful things also. All the funny and crazy shit he did. Many times I’d fold myself double laughing, but then of course I was there to experience a lot of those incidents as well. Yngwie was just plain hilarious and fantastic… most of the time. It brought many personal memories back for sure!

Now… the stories about our years together obviously moved people in Sweden who read the book, because I have been inundated with beautiful messages from strangers about my involvement in the book. Thank you very much. I appreciate you sharing that :). Please feel welcome to share your thoughts about the english book here as well!

I also know that many fans are reading Yngwie’s own biography that also came out this month. Sad and surprisingly enough, a lot of people who were close to him for many years are not even mentioned. The Yngwie I knew would never do that, therefore I know he was not behind that decision. I have not read his book myself but I know that important band members doesn’t get the time of day and his two ex-wifes Erica and Amber are referred to as a groupies and fans (?). So as you understand both books are from different perspectives. I would say that reading both books will fill in all possible blanks. So when you are done reading, tell us what you think :)

Additional ex-band members and sound engineer are included in the english version: Björn Englen, Pontus Norgren & Mick Cevino

yngwie-tallee-1988

tallee-yngwie_frisco-web Yngwie-tallee_X-mas1987-web

tallee-yngwie-1983

Yngwie and Lizzy the cat

Tallee-yngwie-1980

Photographer on christmas 1987 is Susann Almgren.

17 Responses to “The Unauthorized Yngwie Biography in English”

  1. I read the book in one sitting, I could not put it down. ALL YNGWIE FANS SHOULD BUY THIS BOOK!! There is so much detail in here, it is unbelievable. I thought I knew a lot about Yngwie, but I really only knew what April allows him to say in interviews. There is no doubt that Yngwie does everything to excess. I think I basically have the same opinion as everyone else: he’s still the ultimate guitar player, it’s great April helped him sober up but I just wish he would be his own man again(albeit without choosing the worst possible manages). Thank you so much for writing this book, Anders, you have down a great service to Yngwie(even if he won’t thank you for it!) and all of his fans. Tallee, you are a wonderful woman, and to have held your calm despite all the slander April has aimed at you is remarkable! You could have posted private and intimate photos of you and Yngwie to wind her up, but you took the high road and chose not to. It is so easy to see why Yngwie was so in love with you, and just such a shame that Andy Trueman drove the two of you apart. I will read Yngwie’s official autobiography in the next few days, but I think I know what to expect. I’ll buy it because I support Yngwie no matter what, but I’m not nearly as excited to read it as I was to read Anders’ book.

    Like

    • Wow… you are a fast reader! It is great to hear your input Douglas. Thank you so much for those kind words :)

      Like

      • I honestly cannot believe April and what she has done to Yngwie, it is so sad. The way she tries to discredit you was just laughable. It is good that Yngwie is as good as he is…otherwise I would stop listening to him because of her! I hope Anders’ book gets the credit and sales that it so badly deserves. As for Yngwie’s own book…who really expected anything else, with April in charge?

        Like

  2. Well, I am really enjoying this unauthorized biography! Anders did a great job. I’m almost done with chapter 14. I’m so glad I got it. It’s great reading about everything that was going on from all the different band members and friends Yngwie had. I did purchase Yngwies book Relentless,too. But will read that after I finish this book. And will let you know how the two compare. I DO have a feeling that this book by Anders will be the more exciting book,tho. I’ll keep you posted either here or in Yngwie’s Deciples…

    Like

  3. Hey, Tallee (may I call you by your first name?), how are you?

    I’m a Yngwie fan from Brazil, I’ve had the pleasure of seeing him live many times here in Sao Paulo. I started reading “As Above, So Below” and I just can’t stop it, it’s a very nice read. I’ll read “Relentless” after I finish the book. I see you guys had a lot of fun back then! :-)

    I took the liberty of adding you on Facebook…

    Take care and greetings from South America,

    Marcus.

    Like

    • Hello Marcus!
      I’m doing pretty good thank you. Busy on my last photo shoot with the band Soul Sign. Which actually have two of Yngwie’s old band mates, Mark Boals and Björn Englen. Check it out!

      The book is very addicting, everybody says the same thing. We did have lots of fun back then ;)

      About Facebook. I only have my family, relatives and closer friends there. I hope you don’t feel offended. I do however have my other FB page where I keep in touch with “new friends and aquaintance”. Please join me there :) http://www.facebook.com/SavageBeauty.TalleeSavage

      Like

      • Dear Tallee, thank you very much for your reply.

        Sure, no problem, I understand. I see you speak many languages: Swedish, English, Spanish. How about Portuguese? :-)

        By the way, I visited Chile back in 2007, I loved the country. Have you ever been to Brazil?

        Take care!

        Marcus.

        Like

  4. ghee-yeh Says:

    Hi
    i read yngwie s biography and only 1 chapter of anders book (the one that was post on facebook) well the only thing i can say is that yngwie s book has a lot very interesting stuff a details about what he lived and felt at the time.about Erica well he does nt mention any bad thing about her just that their marriage did nt last because they where always on tour and separate and of course well i think distance made his job!.
    Well about amber oh god she made him suffer a lot ,in his book he tells all about it and it was ugly.
    About Marcel jacob its mentioned in the book a lot in the beggining as i quote brother and the good and the bad between them.
    the other thing i can say also is that he tells a lot what happen in the early days up to seventh sign more or less.
    i had a great time reading the book ,about anders book i can tell that is good and very well written also but i have my doubts about who is telling the truth and who is not.
    Tallee i know you told your truth and you have pictures that proof that but i know a lot people spoke from grief and it s understandable i guess.
    Anyways people should read both books i guess so they can make their own version of the story.
    i have nt read any chapter about joe lynturner but for me is very clear for interviews and stuff that the guy is a little all over himself and i think he is taking credit of stuff he never did.For example at the that metal show interview was like he was responsable that oddissey was a succesfull record and he was like a lion tamer with yngwie come on wtf?
    theres a lot of music in that album that you can tell by listening to the genesis or some old footage of yngwie in sweden 1981 that it was wrtitten when yngwie was still in sweden like rising force riff for example.
    Well Thats my Opinion,and just an opinion it does nt means that is the only way to think about it.
    cheers
    Ghee-yeh

    Like

  5. Hello from Down Under Australia.

    From the time I heard that there were was an Yngwie Malmsteen biography underway I was extremely excited, and to then hear there was going to be two books was heaven. I pre ordered from Amazon ‘Relentless’ by Yngve Malmsteen (and his wife April) back in January. There was no final delivery date. Then I saw that there was another book in the works. ‘As above so below’ by Anders Tengner. I had known that this book was released earlier in Sweden as a hard cover book but only in the Swedish language. We had to wait for the English version to be released.

    What I wanted and pictured was both books sitting proudly on the shelf in my humble little home studio. Just to look at those books would make me happy. Five long months had passed and I was still waiting in anticipation. Whichever book was to arrive first I would immediately devour.

    Unfortunately I was informed Anders book was only available in an electronic copy. No big deal I suppose but it was soon announced that I could download it (Before Relentless). I installed the Kindle application on my iPhone and purchased the book. Great price too thanks to our strong Australian dollar. I started reading ‘As above so below’ that night.

    I couldn’t put the book down; I was all over it like a fly onto hot shit. As I found out using the kindle reader on iPhone had some advantages and I could read the book anywhere, at work behind the shed, on the toilet, at the airport (I travel for work quite a bit), waiting in the queue at the supermarket etc. I’m not really a book reading bloke but this subject is a big interest of mine.

    I found the book to be a great representation of what I believe really occurred during the time. At the end of the book I didn’t feel any worse or ill feeling for Yngwie. I just had a greater understanding of what went on. Everybody does some things they regret in their life and Anders book didn’t beat around the bush telling the story. There were some good laughs too. I just wished it was longer. Thankyou Anders Tengner for putting in a great amount of time and energy to bring us THE FANS such a truthful account of the life of Yngwie Malmsteen.

    A few days after finishing ‘As above So below’ the other book arrived. I was expecting a highly modified version of events thoroughly proof read and polished by April his wife. She didn’t disappoint. Although I enjoyed reading this smoothed over version of events I was quite annoyed at the omission of such a major cast member of the story; Tallee Savage. How the hell can it be documented in ‘Relentless’ that Yngwie arrived in the USA “Single and available”? Bitch Please!…anyway I ploughed my way through the book completing it today. Maybe I may have enjoyed it more if I had read ‘Relentless’ before Anders book. But at the end of the day people aren’t stupid and it’s easy to decipher the truth. The Truth doesn’t take anything away from hard-core Yngve J fans.

    Thanks again Anders for your book and to all the contributors.

    AK

    Like

  6. Behshad Says:

    What a great book about one of the greatest musicians of our time.
    I’ve been a huge Yngwie fan since mid 80s and have attended numerous Yngwie concerts the last 25 years.
    This book really shows you who Yngwie is. How he started and went against naysayers. Succeeded in the business , while getting screwed over by different managers left and right . Funny how everyone around him knew how bad he was getting screwed and he never listened till it was too late.
    Ironic part is how he’s going through that now and who knows if hell get another wake up call … Since current “management” is not only trying to remove all his old friends from his life but also trying to erase his past !
    Thanks Anders & Tallee for an excellent book.
    Thanks Yngwie for the amazing music.

    Like

  7. I was probably one of the first English speakers to grab ‘As Above, So Below’ from Amazon, and I had it licked within 2 sittings of a few hours each that night. It was a fascinating and addictive read, and regardless of whose perspective was described in each chapter of the book, no one, I feel, recounted their tales with any unnecessary vitriol or malice. Sure, it ain’t all roses from people like Bonnet and Turner, but lots of these guys often gave as good as they got. I found it all to be quite level headed, thrilling nonetheless, and not tarnishing of the accomplishments of Yngwie as a musician. Let’s face it: We all knew he was no angel, so only someone with their head in the sand would be shocked or offended by what anyone says. If anything, one gains an insight into a very different upbringing and the events that led to the rise, fall, and rise of a music icon. It’s no witch hunt.

    Tallee’s stories in particular I found to very sincere, sensitive, fondly told, and believable, all which seem to be qualities of the woman herself. Her memories of young love, the scene in both Sweden and the USA, and the trials and errors of a musician struggling to break free of a societal attitude that would seek so hinder someone stepping out of line, were invaluable in contribution to me as a reader. I’m sure the writer would feel the same.

    I picked Relentless: The Memoir yesterday morning and had it read by 2pm. I knew what to expect in terms of it not naming key people or acting like they never existed, so if anything I took it on from an internalised perspective of what everyone else described in some parts of AA,SB. For what it was (i.e. a fairly skewed account) it was fairly detailed (obvious omissions notwithstanding) up until the Odyssey period I think and then a lot of things were just mentioned in passing about other album/tour cycles. I would guess that this is where it began to get rushed to keep up with Anders’ release. I personally could have done without all the stuff about gear and approach to music and some of the business philosophies as I know all this like my own name, and feel that stuff might have best been expanded into more of a “how to” book rather than encroaching on what is supposed to be autobiographical. But I heartily recommend both books as it’s fascinating to get the inside and outside perspectives of the same guy, different pieces of the same puzzle you might say.

    Like

  8. Rick Moffatt Says:

    Hello I read the book like thousands times great read

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I read Yngwie’s book last week and I just read anders’ book on the weekend. Anders’ book wins hands down. The book really affected me because I was able to draw alot of parallels between Yngwie’s life and my own..I’m not a guitar virtuoso, but as far as some of the mistakes he’s made and his obsessive & difficult nature I can totally relate to. Tallee, your part of the story with Yngwie is very similar to my wife and I. I’m from Europe and She is from Australia. She followed me to the other side of the world and vice-versa. but I actually gave up opportunities to do something in music in order to stay with her. Seeing the deterioration in Yngwies personal life after you went back to Sweden made me think of how different my life could’ve been if I hadn’t stayed with my wife, I’m glad I did stay with her!! I wonder in his quiet moments does Yngwie regret not doing things differently? One other detail I found slightly disturbing, in Yngwie’s book he said he met April when she was 15 but didn’t start dating here until a few years later. Anders says in his book she was dating Uli Jon Roth when Yngwie met here..that would mean Uli was dating a 15 year old? maybe I have my wires crossed..Anyway your contribution to the book was awesome and I really appreciate you sharing your story as digging up the past can be quite hard sometimes especially if you have moved on. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Marc for those words. Glad you had a pleasure reading my input in the book.
      It is sometimes hard digging in the past, true… but I had a lot of nice memories as well and had no problem sharing them. Glad you hear that you stayed with your wife. Say hello from me!
      About Aprils age, I have no idea about that part. Have a wonderful day now :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

